Children's services

 

Summer 2013

Get “diggy” with gardening, worms, dinosaurs, pirates, and more summer fun!
Program begins June 26 and ends August 2

Tales for Tails … This year we will be working with P.A.W.S. Cat & Kitten Rescue located in Woodstock, CT to help animals in our community. For each book you read this summer, you can come into the library and place a marker on our big bulletin board. Don’t forget; when someone reads to you or you read to someone that book also counts. The books you read will earn food and treats for needy animals. http://www.woodstockcats.org/

Keep track of your books on your Dig Into Reading Log or ONLINE

Fun Programs @ Your Library

These are free family events. Registration is not required.


Wednesday, June 26 @ 6 pm - Summer Kickoff Party with Creature Teachers Come and take a trip around the world with us and find out where our animals come from. This program explores the diverse habitats of our planet and the animals that live within them.

 

Tuesday, July 2 Drop in & Read and get a treat

 

Wednesday, July 3 Family Movies @ the Library Gnomeo and Juliet – Garden gnomes Gnomeo and Juliet have as many obstacles to overcome as their quasi namesakes when they are caught up in a feud between neighbors. G; 84 minutes

 

Tuesday, July 9 Drop In & Read and get a treat

 

Wednesday, July 10 @1pm Worm Day Join us for worm races, worm painting, and worm snacks

 

Thursday, July 11 @ 10:30am Summer Stories

 

Tuesday, July 16 Drop In & Read and get a treat

 

Wednesday, July 17 @ 1pm Dino Digs Join artist extraordinaire, Michael Underhill, as we explore dinosaurs and fossils by doing some “digging”

 

Thursday, July 18 @ 10:30am Summer Stories

 

Thursday, July 18 @ 1pm Summer Party in the Park! Join us for outdoor games and cool snacks. Co-sponsored by Thompson Recreation & Friends of the Library


Tuesday, July 23 Drop In & Read and get a treat


Wednesday, July 24 @ 6pm Pirate Party! A party just for pirates… fun pirate stories and activities


Thursday, July 25 @ 10:30am Summer Stories


Thursday, July 25 @ 1pm Rain date for Summer Party in the Park


Tuesday, July 30 Drop In & Read and get a treat


Wednesday, July 31 @ 1pm Family Movies @ the Library – The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – This epic is the first of a trilogy of films adapting the enduringly popular masterpiece The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien. PG-13 169 minutes


Friday August 2 @ 5:30pm Library Lock-In for Tweens and Teens (for grades 5 & Up)

 

 

Back to Top